OA Operational Area

An Operational Area in California is a county. There are 58 counties in California. Some counties may be better served by broadcast stations in Nevada, Oregon and Arizona. Some EAS activations may involve only a portion of one county or it may involve several counties. Federal and local authorities must take these factors into consideration when preparing their plans and Communications Operations Orders.

Sign up for the Timbercon newsletter: